Governor Andrew Cuomo's new law to come down harder on those caught texting and driving went into effect June 1.
In New York, the punishment for texting while driving has gone from three to five points. If probationary and junior drivers are caught, Cuomo is proposing that licenses be suspected for 60 days after their first conviction.
The law applies to any kind of cell phone activity while on the road.
Cuomo’s proposed legislation will impose the same penalties on drivers with probationary and junior licenses for texting-while-driving that they now receive for speeding and reckless driving: 60-day suspensions for first convictions and revocations of 60 days (for junior licenses) or six months (for probationary licenses) for subsequent convictions within six months of the time a license is restored after suspension.
"Most of us are guilty if it," Bryan Riso said on East Meadow Patch's Facebook page. "Is it safe? Nope! We should be used to the government hacking our lives by now, but this is a good and justified one."
"This is one of the best new laws passed in New York in years," Anthony Steele added. "This should also be applied to people applying make up, shaving and reading while driving. Yes, I have seen all three out here on Long Island and it is as frightening as watching people text while driving."
Gloria Dodaro, a Long Beach Patch Facebook user, said that parents need to be smarter at the wheel as well.
"I see young and not so young alike texting," she said. "Even parents with children in the car. What an example!"
What do you think of the new law? Tell us in the comments section below.