Lynbrook Fifth Graders Sweep Knowledge Masters Competition

Students from West End, Marion Street and Waverly Park place first, second and third, besting all other New York teams.

The Lynbrook School District’s fifth-grade Voyager students from West End, Marion Street and Waverly Park schools have swept the top three spots among New York teams in the Winter 2013 Knowledge Master Open competition, finishing first, second and third, respectively. In addition, the West End team placed sixth in the nation.

Groups from nearly every U.S. state and several countries competed in this annual academic competition. The 175 teams, consisting of fifth- and sixth-graders, used computers to answer 100 challenging questions about literature, mathematics, science, American and world history, geography, health, music and art. Points were awarded for speed as well as accuracy of answers.

“The Voyagers have been practicing for this since September,” said teacher Doreen Papa.  “All the groups worked diligently and cooperatively, which contributed to their success.”  

The Knowledge Master Open was designed to stimulate enthusiasm for learning and recognition for academic accomplishment. The contest runs on classroom computers to allow all students the opportunity to compete in a large academic event without the expense of traveling to a central site. 

The purpose of the Lynbrook Public Schools Voyager Program is to challenge and enrich the educational experience of those children who demonstrate exceptional intellectual ability and academic aptitude in grades three, four and five. Curricular emphasis is on thematic, interdisciplinary units, high-level thinking skills and creative problem-solving.

The West End Voyagers are Sara Bahri, Ami Carey, Chris D’Aleo, Nick Focarazzo, Theo Franks, Jimmy Parco, Arianna Paxinos, Sofia Sacchetti, Jolie Sebel, Kyle Serro and Jack Viceconte.

The Marion Street Voyagers are Dylan Burfield, Samantha Caceres, Randin Chiappisi, Madelyn Colonna, Dan Dalrymple, Felicia Guglielmo, John Malinka, Tom McManus, Anna Rath, Maria Russotti, Allie Schwam, Kayleigh Stalter, Kaylin Tephly, Sean Therrien, Kara Vito and Lena Weinkauf.

The Waverly Park Voyagers are Arpie Bakhshian, Katie Baltes, Zane Daniels, Jesse Herrnson and Adam Polokoff.

Julie O'Connell February 20, 2013 at 05:14 PM
Congratulations to all of them! And Theo Franks is student at Our Lady of Peace School! Way to go Theo!
patrick mcdermott February 21, 2013 at 07:11 PM
Thomas Nathan February 21, 2013 at 07:32 PM
@Rosemary How many teams overall competed in NY State. You seem to have left out that piece of information.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something