.

POLL: What Should Replace Walbaum's?

Take our poll and let your opinion be heard.

The on Ocean Avenue in Rockville Centre will be soon and Lynbrook Patch wants to know what you want to see replace it.

A Whole Foods? Target? The Gap? Take our poll and let us know. If you have a suggestion that isn't listed as a choice, feel free to add it in our comments section.

Andrew Miller January 13, 2012 at 07:30 PM
Whole Foods would be nice, but I'd rather an Uncle Giuseppe's or Fairway Market. If it was Dave & Buster's I'd go broke from my kids. Too small for Target/Walmart. Do we really need anther hotel in RVC?
Jason January 13, 2012 at 11:47 PM
Andrew I agree........we have bookoo typical supermarkets in the area. A specialty one would benefit the village. Uncle Guiseppiis could provide fine Italian specialties more reasonably priced than the specialtiy delis in the area.
meryl January 14, 2012 at 12:14 PM
I would like to see a movie theater. If the area is zoned strictly for "food" then I would love to see a Fairways market.
Len Llewellyn January 14, 2012 at 12:16 PM
The last thing we need is another ITALIAN supermarket!Its too bad we cannot get super market chain like "Giant" to come to Ny . It seems that the out of state chains wont dare venture into the NY market but if they did you would find excellent prices , innovative marketing , Clean locations and mnost important , intelligent , well mannered helpful workers who dont ask "what You again" when you enter the store as a customer. .Ahhhhhhhhhh and they would speak english!
Jason January 14, 2012 at 02:10 PM
Where is there an Italian Supermarket in this area beside the super expensive specialty delis? You couldn't get a cleaner establishment? As far as the manners and language............maybe you'd prefer programmed Robots serving you?
Jason January 14, 2012 at 02:48 PM
Movie theaters soon to be history. Those operating now are in dire straits. A BALLYS SUPER EXPANSION, catering to all age groups would probably do fine particularly as baby boomers age. Whatever does MOVE IN, the landlord needs to be more proactive in lighting and maintenance of the property. Entering this facility is not only dingy and a mess, after a rainfall there's over a foot of water ofF Ocean ave.
icarumba January 14, 2012 at 05:44 PM
Jason- i agree with you - with netflix,blockbuster,red box,pay per view tv,movies on demand,etc movie theaters are not a growth industry. Giant is owned by Ahould- the same company that owns Stop&Shop. Supermarkets like hannafords ,shaws ,wegman,etc wont come to long island because of the high operating costs. Lets try to see if Fairway or Stew Leonards would be interested in the site.
Jason January 14, 2012 at 05:55 PM
That would be great.........Now it's up to the village to deal with the particulars to make it attractive. I am not optimistic bout that part of the equation? The landlord too seems laxidasical as this property lacks attractiveness.
BigIdeas January 25, 2012 at 08:53 PM
Maybe a CVS?
Mike January 25, 2012 at 10:56 PM
Old Navy
Jason January 25, 2012 at 11:38 PM
Gimme a break theres already a half dozen within 1 mile radius
Jason January 25, 2012 at 11:38 PM
Not bad... not bad???
funny face February 11, 2012 at 08:18 PM
fresh vegatable store with a lot of local produce supermarkets have very poor fruit and veggies.
Theresa February 27, 2012 at 09:38 PM
Would love to see a Best Yet replace Waldbaum's. The one in Franklin Square has nice produce, meats and fish with a good turnover and reasonably priced.
Ann March 11, 2012 at 01:59 AM
a "clean" supermarket!!! That Walbaum's should have been closed years ago from the board of health. It was disgusting. A nice, new, clean supermarket would be nice. And I agree, they need to clean up the pot hole ridden parking lot. Its been nothing but an eyesore.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »